Skip to main content

Governing Board

Governing Board

The University of Cape Coast Law 1992 (PNDC Law 278) constitutes the legal basis upon which the University of Cape Coast and the Institute for Educational Planning and Administration is established. However, the IEPA exercises governance and institutional autonomy in its operations. The IEPA has its own Governing Board. 

The membership of the Board is drawn from relevant Government Agencies and Department as well as key sectors of the education enterprise including the Ministry of Education; the Ghana Education Service; the Ghana National Commission for UNESCO; the National Council for Tertiary Education; the Teacher and Education Workers Unions and non-governmental partners including the private sector.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cape Coast is the Chairman of the Board of Governors.  The Board of Governors performs among others, the following functions:

  1. Provide the overall programmatic direction of the Institute. 
  2. Consider and approve the annual budget estimate of the Institute.  
  3. Consider and approves the Institute’s Medium-Term plans as well as the annual work programmes of the Institute 
  4. Recommends for the appointment by government, the Director of the Institute.  
  5. Approves all international engagements of the Institute. 

The IEPA’s day-to-day activities are led by its Director and senior management of the Institute. The Director is appointed by Government for a fixed term and made accountable to a broadly constituted Governing Board (GB) instituted by Government.

The following persons constitute the current governing board


Prof. Joseph Ghartey Ampiah , Chairman

Vice-Chancellor, University of Cape Coast

Prof. Ernest Kofi Davis , Member

Provost, College of Education studies, UCC

Prof. Ernest L. Okorley , Member

Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research, UCC

Prof. Kwasi Opoku-Amankwa , Member

Director General, Ghana Education Service

Prof. Salifu Mohammed , Member

Representative, NCTE, Accra

Mrs. Fafa Kpodo , Member

Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning, Accra

Mr. Riche-Mike Wellington , Member

Representative, UNESCO – NATCOM
Ms. Gifty A. Apanbil

Ms. Gifty A. Apanbil , Member

Representative, Ghana National Association of Teachers, Accra

Mrs. Alberta A. K. Owusu , Secretary

Assistant Registrar, IEPA, UCC